I Tokmoh, therefore I am

April 17, 2008

What’s my golden butterfly?

Filed under: Motivation,Opinion,Otakuism,Personal — tokmoh @ 3:24 am

I’ve been reading her Grace-ness recently wrote about the top 30 companies to work for in Malaysia, then when I re-watched the latest Gintama ED9, I had a thought that I want to write it down here, yohohoho.

Photobucket


In Sanagi video, young Gintoki was staring outside the classroom when a sakura petal landed on his nose. While everyone is listening attentively to the sensei’s lesson, the world takes a great interest in Gin-san who wishes for a more interesting life, by poking at him with a sakura petal to look outside more carefully.

Photobucket

As Gin-san looks outside, it’s sort of like looking outside the comfort zone and see what the world can offer. I can’t help but thinking that it resembles how there could be so many unknown good opportunities that life can offer us outside the norm, and if we can at least just look at it, we’d be able to expand our view. At least.

Photobucket

fly high in the sky!!

Yes, FWA HAI IN THE SKY!! (Yes, japanese engrish there!!) That’s what the outside world beckons!! A golden butterfly and a beautiful sakura tree!! Well, that should symbolise the better things that life can offer. Isn’t it better that way than just getting stuck on the conveyor belt with the majority?

I’d like to imagine that life is meant to grab each of the sakura petals (short, small goals) before we can go for the golden butterfly (ever-lasting, ultimate goal in life, your raison d’etre). The question is, do you dare to go for it?

Because of that, I dread to think about working life. The sakura petals and the golden butterfly that I want to pursue are the pleasure in life, and there are very, veeeeery few jobs that can give me what I want. They may have very attractive employee benefits, salary, etc, but they can’t buy my raison d’etre. And I live, greedily to enjoy all the pleasure the world can offer!! ZEHEHAHAHAHAHAH!! I am just like Tyki Mikk (D.Gray-Man), the “pleasure” of Noah, yohohohoho. That would make me the “pleasure” of……human?

How many jobs can offer the opportunity to travel around the world for free, speak in front of the camera all kinds of crappy history and then eat great food for free (again)? How many job gives me the opportunity to thrash Ferraris, Aston Martins, Lamborghinis, etc, get pampered by car manufacturers in 5,6, perhaps 7 star hotel as well, enjoying lobsters, steaks cooked by Michelin-awarded chefs, just to sweet talk about their new baby?

When I was young, I was told to live is to get good grades for scholarship, enter top university, get high paying job. So……to live is actually just to earn money? And the highest paying job is the priority, and that’s normally doctors, engineers, lawyers, hmm……what else? Then there’s the question of what can I do with the money? What can I afford? Then there’s my kids which I’ll need to fork out money, do I tell them the same tale of “to live is to get good grades for scholarship, enter top university, get high paying job?” Why? So that I can reduce my expense and burden? Do you love your kids for who they are or because they are light on expenditure cost?

I find all that are just poor bullsheez when I start to know who is Jeremy Clarkson, Robert Kiyosaki, Adam Khoo, Donald Trump, etc. Life sux when you work for money. Life is pleasure when you live for what you want, and the price to live that kinda life? Learn how to make money work for you, and the core value of it. Rich people think differently than poor people. Why would I want to work so hard for something I’ll never own, I can’t pass down to my kids, and can’t offer me the pleasure of life?

Photobucket

To escape, or not to escape (from the comfort zone)? That is the question, and the answer? The choice is in your hand. If you don’t, as you can see, even when the golden butterfly lands in front of you, you won’t be able to grasp it in your hand. Such a waste, eh?

That said, the only two job in the world that I look forward is to replace Jeremy Clarkson in Top Gear and Replace Samantha Brown in Passport to Europe. Or any familiar faces in Discovery Channel: Travel and Living.

2 Comments »

  1. hey he looks like L.

    Comment by kevin — April 18, 2008 @ 2:39 pm | Reply

  2. Well, they both have sweet teeth, lol. But still, Gintoki>L. Laughter is the best medicine, and a comedy which can be epic when it’s serious is better than some mentally-tiring manga.

    Comment by tokmoh — April 23, 2008 @ 3:39 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

